For my birthday brunch, I had a hard time choosing where to go due to the vast options Vancouver had to offer. I narrowed it down to a couple of places and I decided where to go based on their menus. I saw the Yolk’s menu and my eyes automatically drifted to the beignets. Once I saw that option, it made choosing where to go pretty easy. 

According to Yelp, there were times where the line went out the door. Luckily on my birthday (which landed on a Thursday), there was only a couple ahead of us. Once they were sat, it took about 5 minutes to get us seated as well. 

We were handed a menu and asked what we wanted to drink. The ambience of the place is very diner-esque. You can also tell which customers were there to sit and eat and which ones were there to just eat and go. We were the latter customers. 

This is exactly what their menu looks like when handed to you. I went with the Double Smoked Bacon, One Egg, Truffle-Lemon Hashbrown combination while my boyfriend went with the Hand Carved Honey Ham, Two Egg, Truffle-Lemon Hashbrown combination. Unlike most places, their poached egg combination kind of made you choose between an English muffin or hashbrown as opposed to being offered both. Another negative thing we noticed was that their hashbrowns were almost perfect. After a while, the lemon just became too overpowering. 

The main event was the beignets. I dipped it into their salted caramel sauce before taking my first bite. And it was pretty good. I was quite disappointed though. I was expecting a much fluffier texture but instead got one much closer to a dense cake. Their sauce was also a little too salty and not enough caramel. When I think of salted caramel I think of a perfect balance between sweet and savory, never tasting one more than the other. But in this case it was very salty. 

All in all though it was a very filling and delicious breakfast. The servers were very friendly and checked on us frequently to make sure we had enough water. It is a place I would recommend for you to try out if you’re ever in the East Hastings area. 
