I have been pretty lazy lately and also not very hungry in the morning. And yes, it is known that breakfast should be your biggest meal of the day, but with school and all, sometimes I just don’t have time to stay in the kitchen to make myself a whole meal. I looooove my oats in the morning, my preference is rolled, but like I said, sometimes I just don’t have the time to stand next to the stove waiting for it to cook. I remembered one time seeing a smoothie involving raw oats and I decided to look for some again. I came across a Martha Stewart recipe (Banana-Oat Smoothie) and decided to tweak it with what I had available at home. 
 
As I was looking at my ingredients, a drink I typically order at Jugo Juice came to mind. They came out with a flavor just a couple months ago called Banana Buzz. According to their menu, it has banana, low-fat frozen yogurt, instant coffee, and unsweetened chocolate almond milk. 
 
I have recreated this drink before using the same ingredients without the low-fat frozen yogurt, and it tastes exactly the way Jugo Juice serves it. 
 
But for the purposes of this oat smoothie I had to make some revisions with what I had available. 
 
Buzzed Banana Oat Smoothie:
  • 1/4 Cup of Rolled Oats
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 3/4 Cup Chocolate Milk (you can use whatever kind of milk you like, but 1% Partly Skimmed is what we had available)
  • 1 tsp instant coffee (any brand, use your favorite, I used Nescafe)
  • 5-6 cubes of ice
I just combined all the ingredients and whizzed it all up on a Vitamix and it was pretty yummy. There is a bit of texture to it because of the fact that the oats are raw, but I read that if you put the them in a food processor before combining it with the other ingredients, it provides a smoother drink.
 
This is a great drink for breakfast on the go, breakfast prepared in a rush, and today I just had it as a post-workout drink! Very multipurpose. Very good. Highly recommend. Such benefits. 10/10
