Lately, I have been feeling a little … hm. I don’t know what to call it when you’re anxious and depression kicks in. Well, whatever it’s called, that’s what I’ve been feeling lately. And it wasn’t because something triggered it or anything, it was just… one of those weeks, yknow?
 
Well, that feeling of wanting to detach and wanting to be alone lead me into reading a whole lot more again. And I decided to read a book that has been on my “to read” list for so long. 
 
Let me tell you, that it was such a beautiful coincidence to naturally gravitate towards this book when I was going through what I was going through. I don’t usually read book synopses so I dove into this book with no expectations and no previous knowledge. 
 
This is a story about two teenagers who meet on top of a bell tower, standing on the ledge. You can see why I was automatically hooked. One of the things I loved most about this book was how it took you through the story in the minds of both main characters. 
 
Finch, is a very outgoing guy. And just by reading how he is, I know that you can picture who he is at your school. The guy who just does whatever he wants. The guy who isn’t afraid to make a fool of himself. While Violet is the complete opposite. She’s the girl next door, she was popular, a cheerleader, and had the perfect boyfriend and just wanted to blend in. 
 
Though quite the opposite on how they convey themselves, through reading the story in their perceptions, you realize just how similar they are (in the sense that they are both fighting an internal battle) and just how much they need each other. 
 
Through a school project, they are forced to spend lots of time with each other and through that, you see how Finch constantly pushes Violet. And Violet gives Finch something to live for.
 
Much like The Fault in Our Stars, this story kind of revolved how boy meets girl. Boy likes girl. Girl doesn’t like boy. But boy is charming and girls ends up falling for the boy. I can’t help it, the hopeless romantic in me will always have an affinity for this kind of stuff. 
 
For anyone who has gone and continues to go through mental illness, this book will definitely leave an impact. For me, what makes this book so great is how.. it puts how I feel into words. 

“It’s hard to describe, but I imagine the way I am… is a lot like getting sucked into a vortex. Everything dark and churning, but slow churning instead of fast, and this great weight pulling you down, like it’s attached to your feet even if you can’t see it.”

There are plenty of other passages that I highlighted because it just spoke to me so well. And sometimes, when you go through that “dark vortex” what helps is knowing that someone out there, is going through it too.

This is one of the only books that I loved so much, that I even read the author’s notes. I suggest that if you pick up this book, you do so as well. 

The author describes how this story came to be and it made me understand how she was able to convey so many strong emotions so well throughout the story. She also includes important hotline numbers just in case you know someone out there, whether it be you yourself of someone close to you, need them. 

All in all, I have got to say that I am in complete and utter love with this book and it is by far one of my favorites. 

