Dessert · Recipes

Birthday Cake 1.0

My sister has been raging on and on about how her friend always makes this funfetti cake for special occasions, and I’m not gonna lie.. Whenever she posted pictures I thought it was the most beautiful thing ever. So around last year I decided to search it up. She said that it was the Momofuku Milk Bar Birthday Cake and it was my luck I guess because there was a Youtube video about it? Lemme tell youuuuuu. That video had me DROOLING.

 

So ever since I watched it, I already knew that it was what I wanted to make for C’s birthday. I have been sneakily looking for the materials needed for the contruction of the cake, with no such luck. I literally looked everywhere and could not find a store that sold acetate strip? So that is why this cake that I made looks a little sad and limp and just … meh.

 

Anyways, so I have been sitting on this recipe for months and I finally got to put it to use with my own twist. The famous Milk Bar cake includes a key thing that is missing in this image. For anyone that has seen or had the cake has probably been wondering why it’s not here and lemme essplain. The missing part is the cake crumbs. And I did include it inside the cake between the layers mixed in with the frosting but I felt that they didn’t turn out the way I wanted to so I omitted putting it on top.

 

So without further ado, here’s how I added my own twist to the famous birthday cake.

 

I found the recipe here.

 

First things first. I did tweak this recipe, a lot. Not even a little bit. I could not find grapeseed oil so I had to google what are good substitutes. Lots of links suggested olive oil, so that is what I used throughout the recipe. I also didn’t have buttermilk so I had to “sour” my own milk by adding in half a tablespoon of white vinegar into my milk. My local store didn’t have the clear McCormick vanilla extract, which Christina Tosi says really makes the birthday cake the way it is which was unfortunate for me, so I just used the artificial brown stuff. I also decided to omit the corn syrup and citric acid because I honestly felt like they were unnecessary.

 

For the cake, aside from the tweaks stated above, I also lessened the sugar by a bit. I kept the amount of brown sugar, but decreased the white sugar by a fourth of a cup.

 

The crumbs, also like the cake, had only the tweaks stated above.

 

But when it came to the frosting, I basically just made my own. So I used two boxes of Philadelphia Cream Cheese mixed it until fluffy with about 3/4 cup of powdered sugar. My biggest tweak and addition would be some whipped cream which I folded into the cream cheese frosting.

 

For the assembly, I was able to cut out two perfect circles, but I did have what they call a “Frankenstein” layer which was the middle, made out of two halves.

 

I layered the cake and I think that I did put a little bit too much frosting in between which resulted in the cake becoming heavy and without the acetate strip, made it look unbalanced.

 

The cake was very fluffy, and the frosting was very light with the perfect hint of the cream cheese flavour. C is not really into sweets so I knew that creating the lighter frosting would be the best way to go.

 

I loved that C loved the cake, but I felt that it could have been better. Which is why this is my very first trial! I hope to make a much better one next time. I might keep some tweaks but I think that I will try a little harder to stick to the recipe next time.

 

C did end up taking the cake home so I didn’t really get an actual slice of cake, but there were lotttttts of scraps, which I crumbled and turned into cake pops!

 

I really love baking and trying new things. And I have been in the kitchen a lot lately. I will try harder to document those and try especially harder to take more pictures.

 

Til next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

