champoradoIf you grew up in a Filipino household, chances are, you’ve had a nice warm bowl of champorado. Champorado is a bowl of chocolate rice porridge usually served during the rainy season in the Philippines. I looooove champorado but in all honesty I highly prefer the box mix compared to the homemade stuff with real rice. It may be the recipe that was followed but anytime someone has had me try their homemade champorado, it just doesn’t compare.

Since I started trying to have a more balanced diet, and by balanced I mean still eating bad stuff but eating a lot more good stuff, I haven’t had a reason to go out and buy the champorado from a box. But one day, when I was having my cup of oats, my palate noticed some very familiar flavours.

So, I decided to experiment one morning and what I made tasted pretty dang close to the box stuff. I made the choice of labeling it “healthy” because not only is it not made with rice, but its also not made from a mix.

All it takes is four ingredients:

Steel cut oats, water, unsweetened cocoa powder, and brown sugar.

Prepare the steel cut oats like you usually do, and just before it finishes cooking, add the cocoa powder and brown sugar to taste. For my test recipe I used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the cocoa powder and about 2 tablespoons of the brown sugar.

The natural thickening process that the steel coats goes through makes the texture all the more closer to a real bowl of champorado.

A very easy recipe for anyone who wants to have an early morning treat!

