In typical slacker fashion, I did everything I could to put off studying for my midterms. This lead me to opening up my snaps, which included the Tastemade channel snaps. There I saw Dzung Duong, also known as Honeysuckle on Youtube. Her recipe for the day was Matcha Madeleines. I hadn’t eaten much that day so watching the video made me crave madeleines. And since we had a madeleine mold available, I decided to make em. 


I wanted to slack off so much, that this is the first time I made the effort of actually taking pictures during the baking process. 


Dzung’s recipe includes matcha and white chocolate. I have matcha on hand but very little, so I decided to opt for making just simple madeleines.

First things first, before even starting on the batter, I buttered the mold and dusted flour on top in order to make it easier for the madeleines to pop out of the mold after baking.

I started by putting all of the dry ingredients in one bowl, then combining the wet ingredients in another. I beat it (with a hand mixer) on high speed for 2-4 minutes until the mixtured turned pale and fluffy. I then combined the two by folding in the dry ingredients into the wet. Dzung recommended folding as opposed to mixing in order to keep all the air that was beaten into the mix. This makes for a much lighter and fluffier texture.

I didn’t preheat the oven before making the batter in order to let it rest and to let it “relax”.

After the oven warmed up to 350 degrees, I scooped the batter into the molds. Dzung said that she filled her molds 2/3 of the way but I had to estimate how much 2/3 is. It made for very uneven scoops and for the ones where I filled more than 2/3 of the way… well it spilled over during the baking process. I decided to throw some variety in the mix so I set aside 2 tablespoons and mixed it with a teaspoon of sprinkles to have funfetti madeleines and then I set aside another 2 tablespoons and combined it with half a teaspoon of matcha.

They were in the oven for about 7-9 minutes and to my disappointment, there was no signature madeleine dimple. They rose pretty high so I’m thinking that maybe I added a bit too much baking powder?

After letting it cool on the mold for a couple of minutes, they slid right out. They were fluffy, sweet, and the bit of lemon zest created a very balanced flavour.

I wish that I made most of the batch matcha and funfetti. The funfetti ones were extra delicious because the sprinkles added a soft crunch. The matcha had the signature earthy taste and I couldn’t stop eating it.

This is a great recipe to try out, and a simple one at that.

