I am going to try and make this as spoiler free as possible.

So if you’re like me and you basically have no life, then you binge watched the new season in literally one sitting. No? Just me?

If I were to state in two words what made me love season two, it would have to be:

Jon Bernthal

They did a great job writing the Punisher’s story and Jon did such an amazing job delivering. As he said in an interview with the Hollywood Reporter:

The Punisher means so much to so many people, and it lives in so many different people’s heads, so they care about it so much. That’s huge to me, and I understand it…This is a real honor and responsibility to try and get this right. It’s not even about whether people like it or not, it’s about people believing it and believing in him.

The way he took Frank’s character and embodied his story, really speaks volumes of his abilities as an actor. Another thing that I loved about his character is how throughout the season, he learns more about himself along with the audience. And I really liked that because we weren’t just handed his character and given maybe a 2 minute flashback clip of his past to explain why he is the way he is. His story arc was definitely my favorite and I can’t wait to see what future seasons (hopefully?) have in store.

The second most-anticipated character for season two was Elektra. My first impression was how much she (Elodie Young) sounded just like Katrina Law (Nyssa al Ghul on CW’s Arrow). And I think that threw me off because well.. the only other Elektra I knew was Jennifer Garner circa 2005.

The Elektra storyline I felt got overshadowed by Frank Castle’s. But maybe that was just me wanting more and more. Towards the latter part of the season though, they start giving her character a little bit more love and that’s when they really shifted the focus her way instead of sharing it between the two.

The common theme in this season is: Hero, Antihero, Villain?

Which category do these characters fall under? And the great thing about the show is that they leave it very open-ended. It’s up to you as the viewer to determine where you think they belong.

I have so much more to say about the season but I wanted to keep this as spoiler free as possible.

Overall I give the season a 4/5. Definitely something I’d recommend watching.

