Review · TV/Movies

Allegiant

Okay, so I don’t know how this happened. But I was baffled.

I have known since the before they even started filming that there were thoughts of turning the last book (Allegiant) into two films, like what Twilight did. But I thought that idea was thrown out when I started to see the Allegiant trailers. I assumed that since it wasn’t titled Allegiant: Part One, they would just keep everything in one movie.

But boy. was. I. wrong.

Keep in mind it has been over three years since I read the trilogy, so I don’t know if it is just me forgetting the book; but the movie, was definitely not based on the book. The latter part anyways.

The movie picked up where the last one left off. Jeanine was dead and the Factionless are now running the city. But, determined to find out what the message meant about there being others outside of the city’s walls, Tris would stop at nothing to find out.

I was familiar with everything happening up until they passed the wall. After that, I had no idea what was going on anymore. That proved to be both a pro and a con for me. A pro because it suddenly felt like a different story and I didn’t know where it was going to lead. A con because I started to get confused where there story was going to go and if it was going to have the ending that I hated ever so much.

It was a good movie. I was engaged all throughout. It had me on the edge of my seat and I enjoyed all the comic relief.

I give this movie a 4/5. If you’ve stuck with watching the series this long, then this movie shouldn’t disappoint. I just have no clue where they’re going to go for part two, aka “Ascendants”.

Leave a Reply

