Well hello there!

Long time, no talk. 2 0 1 6 got cray. Personally, globally, generally. But since it is the beginning(-ish, oops.. I started drafting this on the 5th and it is now the 18th) of the year, I thought that a life update would be the best way to start off the year.

2016 was the year that I set out to accomplish all the goals I had laid out for myself. Above all else, I wanted to pursue and exceed the most in the area of finishing school and beginning the career that came with it.

Along the way, things started becoming hazy. Everything in my life had revolved around this goal and somewhere along the way, I lost myself. The person who I was before started to fade away and in its place, a robot. My weekdays have looked the same for the past 7 months. Clock in, clock out, home, cook lunch for the next day, and repeat.

Although it was the goal for 2016, that doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s the end goal. I always knew that this career would be temporary. It was either that, or I wanted to give it the chance to change my mind and allow me to feel fulfilled. 8 months and two “promotions” later, and I feel indifferent. Despite moving up when it came to titles and job roles, mentally I have not been challenged at all.

But, since I was good last year, I am giving myself this year to focus on me. 2016 was rough especially in the mental health department. I often found myself depressed and anxious for large spans of time. I’ve made a couple of minor changes already and I am glad to say that my mind feels a lot quieter and lighter.

With that being said, I am only in the beginning of my process of finding inner peace. I want to work on myself, for myself, by myself. This is something that I will consciously work on throughout the year and I hope to share that experience here, with the people who have stuck around with my inconsistency.

I also want to use this year to seek my passions. To really hone in on what makes me happy, and hope that that will lead to the path that I want to take and go back to school and get the proper education for it. With that, comes forcing myself to write. Writing has always been one of my favorite things to do.

And even if unfortunately, the quality of it has gone down throughout the years, this is something I want to continue for the years to come. I am tasking myself to write at least  once each month. Whether that be a movie review, makeup review, etc. I just need to get behind my computer and produce a piece for this blog.

As I’ve said before, 2016 was ridiculous for literally 90% of the world’s population. So here’s to a better, healthier, and happier 2017!

